Speakers have an important role in spreading state of the art about the recent trends and technological developments. Several opportunities are offered by the IEEE to speakers for discussion of their work through distinguished lectures in various conferences and events across the globe. IICPE 2018 brings to the forefront eminent speakers from academia, research organizations, and industry to share their experiences and technological developments with us.

Prof. Joachim Holtz

Joachim Holtz graduated in 1967 and received the Ph.D. degree in 1969 from the Technical University Braunschweig, Germany. In 1969 he became Associate Professor and, in 1971, Full Professor and Head of the Control Engineering Laboratory, Indian Institute of Technology in Madras, India. He joined the Siemens Research Laboratories in Erlangen, Germany, in 1972. From 1976 to 1998, he was Professor and Head of the Electrical Machines and Drives Laboratory, Wuppertal University, Germany. He is presently Professor Emeritus and a Consultant. Dr. Holtz has extensively published, among others 10 invited papers in journals. He has earned 11 Prize Paper Awards. He is the coauthor of four books, and holds 31 patents. Dr. Holtz is the recipient of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society Dr. Eugene Mittelmann Achievement Award, the IEEE Industrial Applications Society Outstanding Achievement Award, the IEEE Power Electronics Society William E. Newell Field Award, the IEEE Third Millenium Medal, and the IEEE Lamme Gold Medal. He is a Fellow of the IEEE. Dr. Holtz is Past Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Industrial Electronics, Distinguished Lecturer of the IEEE Industrial Applications Society and IEEE Industrial Electronics Society, Senior AdCom Member of the IEEE Industrial Electronics Society, Chair, IEEE Industrial Electronics Society Fellow Committee, and member of the Static Power Converter Committee, IEEE Industrial Applications Society.


Prof. Ambrish Chandra

Prof. Chandra received his Engineering degree from the University of Roorkee (now Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Roorkee), Roorkee, India, the M. Tech. degree in Power Apparatus and Systems from IIT Delhi, New Delhi, India, and the Ph.D. degree in Electrical Engineering from the University of Calgary, Calgary, AB, Canada, in 1977, 1980, and 1987, respectively. He has worked as a Lecturer and later as a Reader with the University of Roorkee. Since 1994, he has been working as a Professor with the Department of Electrical Engineering, École de Technologie Supérieure (ETS), Universié du Québec, Montréal, QC, Canada. He also shoulders the responsibility of the Director of the graduate program on “Renewable Energy and Energy Efficiency” at ETS and is a co-author of the book Power Quality-Problems and Mitigation Techniques (Wiley). Prof. Chandra’s research interests focus on Power quality, Active filters, Static reactive power compensation, Flexible ac transmission systems (FACTS) & Control and integration of renewable energy resources. He is an Associate Editor of IEEE Transactions On Industrial Electronics and Distinguished lecturer for IEEE Power and Energy Society, Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada, the Institute of Engineering and Technology (IET) UK, the Institution of Engineers (India) [IE(I)], and the Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers (IETE). He is also a Life Member of the Indian Society for Technical Education (ISTE). He is a Professional Engineer in the Province of Québec, Canada. He has several reputed publications to his credit.

Prof. K. Gopakumar

He received his B.E. (Electrical Engineering) degree from Indian Institute of Science in 1980. Later on, he did his M. Sc. (Engg.) (E.E.) in 1984, and Ph.D. (E.E.) in 1994 respectively, both from the Indian Institute of Science. Dr. Gopakumar is currently a Professor at the Department of Electronic Systems Engineering (formerly CEDT- Centre for Electronics Design and Technology (CEDT), at Indian Institute of Science (IISc), Bangalore, India. He received IETE (India)- B.K Bose award for contributions to the area of power electronics and drives for high power applications, and IISc Alumni award for Excellence in Research in Engineering-2016. During 1984-1987, Dr. K. Gopakumar served at the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO), Satellite Centre, Bangalore, India where he was involved in the design and development of SROSS-1 (Stretched Rohini Satellite Series-1) main power supply systems (switched mode power supply systems) for the controls and payloads. He has been working at CEDT, IISc, Bangalore, India since 1987 while holding several different titles including Scientific Officer, Senior Scientific Officer, Assistant Professor, and Associate Professor. He has been working as Professor since 2007 and has several reputed publications to his credit. Dr. Gopakumar is a Fellow IEEE, Fellow IETE (India), Fellow Indian National Academy of Engineers (FNAE), Co Editor-in-Chief IEEE Transactions On Industrial Electronics, Distinguished Lecturer IEEE Industrial Electronics Society & Chair professor ABB (2016-2018).


Prof. Kaushik Rajashekara

Rajashekara earned his bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees from the Indian Institute of Science in Bangalore, and an MBA from Indiana Wesleyan University. He is currently Distinguished Professor in Electrical & Computer Engineering Department at University of Houston. He was an assistant professor at the Indian Institute of Science and an adjunct professor at the Purdue School of Engineering and Technology. He joined Delphi, then a division of General Motors, in 1989 where he worked on propulsion systems for electric, hybrid and fuel cell vehicles. He was the lead engineer on power electronics for the propulsion system for GM EV1, the first electric vehicle that was commercially available in the United States. He then became chief scientist for propulsion, fuel cell, and advanced energy systems. Rajashekara joined Rolls-Royce as the chief technologist for electric power and control systems. He joined UT Dallas after several years with companies such as Asea Brown Boveri, General Motors Co. and Rolls-Royce Corp. Rajashekara has given more than 100 invited presentations in more than 40 countries. He holds more than 30 U.S. Patents. In 2012 Rajashekara was elected to the National Academy of Engineering, the nation’s most prestigious organization recognizing engineering achievement, for his contributions to electric power conversion systems in transportation. He is recipient of the IEEE Richard Harold Kaufmann award for outstanding contributions in industrial systems engineering for 2013, IEEE Industry Applications Society Outstanding Achievement Award for outstanding contribution for the application of electricity to industry (2009), IEEE Industry Applications Society Gerald Kliman award for “contributions to the advancement of power conversion technologies through innovations and their applications to industry.” (2006).